WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post Reply
arizonajon
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:17 pm
Contact:

WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post by arizonajon »

Hi Phil -

With the sheer amount of APs collected, GE gets very very slloooowwwwwwwwwww. What I've been doing is using "netgear" or "linksys" as a proxy for the overall coverage. However, for the past month or so whenever I do a search using a SSID like netgear or cablewifi I always get the exact same result, which is a search result for SSID noiram. I've tried doing the search function from a couple different PCs or macs, and the production db always returns the same 5k file size result. Can you check and see if there's an issue at the server?

Cheers - Jon
arizonajon
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:17 pm
Contact:

WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post by arizonajon »

I haven't seen any traffic on this item, so I'm asking again. I just ran a search for "coxwifi" and got the same "noiram" results as last month. Am I doing something wrong or is the server colicky?
User avatar
pferland
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:38 am
Location: The Universe
Contact:

WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post by pferland »

Sorry Jon, been busy the last few weeks. I dont think I will have time during the week to take a look, but I will try to this weekend.
The best acceleration you can get on a Mac is 9.8ms^2
User avatar
pferland
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:38 am
Location: The Universe
Contact:

WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post by pferland »

Hi Jon,

Andrew moved the Database site back to the server rack at the apartment over the weekend. We should have more memory and resources to do the searches that you were trying to do before that were incomplete. Would you give the search a try again and see how it works out?

When I do a search of `netgear` on the db i get about 91,988 results

https://live.wifidb.net/wifidb/opt/resu ... om=0&to=25


-Phil
The best acceleration you can get on a Mac is 9.8ms^2
arizonajon
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:17 pm
Contact:

WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post by arizonajon »

Happy new year and congrats on the server move!

WiFiDB importer seems to be broken. I am getting

"Failure to Move file to Upload Dir (/srv/www/virtual/live.wifidb.net/wifidb/import/up/), check the folder permisions if you are using Linux." when i use the Import function.

Cheers - Jon
User avatar
pferland
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:38 am
Location: The Universe
Contact:

WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post by pferland »

Happy New Year Jon!

That should be a simple fix, Andrew probably only has the folder as read only or the apache user not have write permissions to the upload folder, will have him take a look into it.
The best acceleration you can get on a Mac is 9.8ms^2
arizonajon
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:17 pm
Contact:

WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post by arizonajon »

on the search function, it's not that the server doesn't compile a list of however many thousands of Netgear or CoxWifi aps there are, that works. It's when I do the kmz download and get the "search_export.kmz" that I always get exactly the same 5 kB file, on multiple computers with different connections, whether logged in or not.
User avatar
pferland
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:38 am
Location: The Universe
Contact:

WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post by pferland »

Ahhh ok, will look into that too.
The best acceleration you can get on a Mac is 9.8ms^2
User avatar
pferland
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:38 am
Location: The Universe
Contact:

WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post by pferland »

I just remembered that the file that you get to download is just a linker file to URLs that will then return the info that you want. So the file is always going to be 5kb in size. But the contents of the URL should change as APs are imported. Will still take a look at it.

-Phil
The best acceleration you can get on a Mac is 9.8ms^2
User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1262
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post by ACalcutt »

Jon,

I fixed the folder permissions that broke on the migration. are you still having trouble with the uploader?
arizonajon
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:17 pm
Contact:

WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post by arizonajon »

I haven't tried the uploader since Wed - drive to CA tomorrow morning so will have a bunch more APs in the next 24 hours - will try tomorrow night!
arizonajon
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:17 pm
Contact:

WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post by arizonajon »

Wow - my trip to/from SoCal didn't even net me 13k APs!!!

The upload function appears fine and dandy.

I'll check the search/kmz export now.
arizonajon
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:17 pm
Contact:

WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post by arizonajon »

Nope. Search export is still the very same file and APs that I've been getting for months. I searched for "coxwifi", got over 10k coxwifi APs, clicked on export, got the "search_export.kmz" file, opened that in GE and the same "noiram" APs came up. No coxwifi APs at all.
User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1262
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

WiFiDB.net Bug Report

Post by ACalcutt »

John, I think i've fixed the search export. it looks like it was another permission issue from my migration to amazon several month ago. there was a old export file stuck there that it kept serving to you and it didn't have permission to update it.
Post Reply