How to use GPS

Having a problem? Ask for help here.
Post Reply
40Habits
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:20 pm

How to use GPS

Post by 40Habits » Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:32 pm

Hi i'm having problems using gps. i am running windows 8 and using garmin nuvi 1300. it does put out nmea data. my problem is that i don't know how to set the gps settings. com port, baud port or any of that because i don't know where to get that information from. where would i find these information to get this to work. thank you for any help.

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

Re: How to use GPS

Post by ACalcutt » Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:19 am

Usually you just need to set the gps com port. you can find it by going into "device manager" and looking under ports. it would look something like this http://www.laptopgpsworld.com/attachmen ... anager.jpg

scram
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 3:38 pm

How to use GPS

Post by scram » Thu Jun 04, 2015 4:23 pm

Good evening,

Returning to a topic that is a bit old, how can you configure a GPS when I do not already have port (lpt, com) installed in my device?

Also my nuivi 1390 is taken as USB connected mobile device

I find no valid solution to the problem.

Another thing, would it be possible to put a kind of (at) techidiots.net? visibly gmail problem when I click on the link, the application starts but there is no essage that is created.

Thank you for your help.

It is currently
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 2:05 pm

How to use GPS

Post by It is currently » Sun Jun 07, 2015 8:17 am

do you use on the new GNS Receiver?

scram
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 3:38 pm

How to use GPS

Post by scram » Mon Jun 08, 2015 4:55 am

Hello

after doing a research to find out what it was a gns,

I have a small antenna jack that plugs into the cigarette lighter cord supply devices

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

How to use GPS

Post by ACalcutt » Sat Jun 13, 2015 8:10 am

Vistumbler needs a device that creates a com port and can do NMEA data over the serial (com) connection.

It the past I have used a program call "GpsGate Splittler", which allows you to connect to a bunch of different devices and create a virtual com port that vistumbler can connect to.

For my tablet, which uses the microsoft location platform, I use "Cenrafuse Localizer GUI", which creates a virtual com port that allows me to use the sensors usually only accessable through the windows location platform.

Post Reply