AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post Reply
snoopyjc
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:42 pm

AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post by snoopyjc » Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:48 pm

First time running the tool v10.6 on Windows 7 I get the error:

AutoIt Error
Line 23971 (File "C:\Program Files(x86)\Vistumbler\Vistumbler.exe"):
Error: Variable must be of type "Object".
[OK]

If I press [OK], the program exits.

Now what?

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1158
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post by ACalcutt » Mon Apr 17, 2017 7:35 am

I believe 10.6 still needed to be run as an administrator (you can try right clicking the vistumbler icon and telling it to run as administrator.

You could try getting the latest beta, 10.6.4 Beta 5 from github (download vistumbler.exe and vistumbler_updater.exe from https://github.com/acalcutt/Vistumbler/ ... tumblerMDB and put them into the vistumbler directory, overwriting the existing files)

cst
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 9:35 am

AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post by cst » Sat May 13, 2017 9:54 am

Hi!
Sorry but the fault seems independent of any privilege level, and updating to the most recent version doesn't fix the problem either. But at least its good that the problem occurs only when AP-scanning is actually done, thus disabling WiFi fixes the problem ;-)
Vistumbler is a good program I used on several computers, but seem not to be that portable. This fault occurs on a Dell XPS15.
BR Christian

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1158
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post by ACalcutt » Sun May 14, 2017 9:07 am

The easiest way to help troubleshoot this would be to download autoit and run Vistumbler.au3 .Vistumbler.au3 is the source code, and running it directly will give me a line of code the error is on and a better error.

You can get autoit from https://www.autoitscript.com/site/autoit/downloads/

The Vistumbler.au3 is in the same location as the vistumbler exe


You may also want to try switching to netsh mode (uncheck Options --> Use Native Wifi). If it crashes when turning on wifi scanning, maybe there is a issue with native wifi mode on your computer.

cst
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 9:35 am

AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post by cst » Tue May 16, 2017 9:50 pm

Running the script source in AutoIt gave location File: UDFs\AccessCom.au3 Line: 283
$o_adoRs.Fields($x - 1).Value = $ar_array[$x]
$o_adoRs.Fields($x - 1)^ERROR

Unchecking the UseNativeWiFi option doesn't change anything.

Does this help?

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1158
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post by ACalcutt » Wed May 24, 2017 6:44 pm

The AccessCom UDF is external code I use to create and work with the backed MDB database.

-Are you starting a new session or are you recovering and old vistumbler MDB file?
-Do you see a mdb file when you got to the %temp%\vistumbler directory?
-Are you able to import a file from one of the other computers or does it get the same error?

it sounds like it is having trouble creating the mdb database...or has some issue with the backend database. we have seen a few cases like that we have never figured out.

cst
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 9:35 am

AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post by cst » Fri May 26, 2017 1:56 pm

Yes, the fault seem to be MDB-related.
On my failing PC it doesn't matter if I recover from a crashed session or if I start a new session and start scanning.
On my other PC I can read the MDB from the failing PC - and Vistumbler on the other PC crashes, thus this fault goes with the MDB-file.
On my failing PC I can read the MDB from the other PC - and Vistumbler on the failing PC suddenly _works_!
This looks like a work-around, somehow, as I can continue with that recovered MDB and start scanning on the failing PC - but it's far from convenient.
/Christian

Stuboy
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:47 am

Re: AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post by Stuboy » Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:49 am

I have the same error line 23971 on an acer travelamte 4230 running win10x64. The previous version worked fine!
Is this perhaps something to do with windows permissions to write in the progam folder, i have a few older progs that fail if you don't write in the user folder?

Will there be an update or fix?
Regards
Stu

OmriBZG
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:25 am

Re: AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post by OmriBZG » Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:31 am

Hi,

Having the same error with my WIN 7.
I don't get this error with WIN 10.

Any solution on the horizon :)?

Omri

Harmonic
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 11:46 pm

Re: AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post by Harmonic » Tue Jul 04, 2017 12:23 am

Same problem in Win 7 x64. Installed and let everything update.
Someone said pre version worked fine SO
Uninstalled then reinstalled and did NOT let anything update and now it works.
Hope this helps :)

trevshort
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 4:48 am

Re: AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post by trevshort » Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:04 am

Hello. Windows 10 64 and I got the same problem. Didn't update and it works fine.

arizonajon
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:17 pm
Contact:

Re: AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post by arizonajon » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:55 pm

should have searched for "23971" before posting a new thread %^( sorry about that

I am getting the same AutoIT error, machine is W10 Enterprise, happens when I click "Scan APs", opens an .mdb file, writes at least 1 record, then crashes. I've attached a copy of the .mdb zipped.

I can probably convince IT to install AutoIT to debug, but it's always a challenge %^)
Attachments
2017-10-10 18-01-26.zip
(4.95 KiB) Downloaded 5 times

cst
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 9:35 am

Re: AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post by cst » Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:51 pm

Well, due to the traffic in this group I checked if the tip by Harmonic -running v10.6 (from vistumbler.net) without updating- may work... and it does! After that I updated, trying to reproduce the error - and I failed, so both the current 10.6.4b7 dated 4/17/2017 and the old 10.6 from 06/12/2015 work. The problem seem to be fixed :-)

So all of you posting "doesn't work" may retry or post the vistumbler version in use to give a hint to the author.
/Christian

clay11
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: AutoIt Error: Variable must be of type "Object"

Post by clay11 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 6:27 pm

Got the same error.

Line 23971 when starting 'Scan APs'. First object's SSID 'c:\gullible.virus.exe'

Can DB handle?

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest