SNR reading

Post Reply
jaymohan
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:57 pm

SNR reading

Post by jaymohan » Thu Jan 14, 2010 1:04 pm

Hello, I'm new to Vistumbler so I apologize if this ability is already hidden somewhere, but I haven't been able to find it. I am looking for a way to obtain an SNR reading during the scan. I have relied on netstumbler's SNR rating to test the integrity of my AP placement during installs. Do to the lack of netstumbler updates and its compatibility issues with Vista and 7 I am seeking alternate solutions. So my question is if Vistumbler has this functionality already, and if not then I am requesting this feature. Thank you.

Jay

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1166
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

Re: SNR reading

Post by ACalcutt » Thu Jan 14, 2010 1:44 pm

Well vistumbler does have a feature to estimate the SNR value (Options --> Show Signal dB), but you are better off using Vistumbler percentage value because it will be more accurate than the estimated SNR.

Vistumbler has no source for direct signal and noise measurements since netsh outputs into the percent value. And estimated SNR value is the best i can do.

Freebe
DIY Contributor
DIY Contributor
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:40 am

Re: SNR reading

Post by Freebe » Thu Jun 10, 2010 7:47 am

Hello Andy. :D
Logged in from Sardinia ( Holiday ) nice wether shame you and phill arn't here. But somebody has to do the work. :lol:

just had a thought about that Signal Strength , we have the Blue line and the Strength Speaking.
So how about converting the Blue line to show the amount of Signal. :?:

ie. for 50% of Signal then 50% of Blue line, 75% of Signal then 75% of Blue line.

Regards freebe.

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1166
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

Re: SNR reading

Post by ACalcutt » Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:47 pm

What "Blue line" are you talking about

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1166
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

Re: SNR reading

Post by ACalcutt » Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:13 pm

is the blue line you are referring to when you select an access point in the list? how it highlights the entire row? I'm not sure I could change the color of that.

Freebe
DIY Contributor
DIY Contributor
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:40 am

Re: SNR reading

Post by Freebe » Tue Jun 15, 2010 6:04 am

sorry Andy, i had to find the Hole ( open line ) to be able to get back to you.
Yes the Blue Line that lights up the AP that you are on.
But you don't have to change the color.
Just make it , or join it that the lenth is ( about the Signal Strenth )
That way you can see how good it is at one look.

Now i will look back and see what you have to say when i find the next hole. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Here in Sardinia its not easy. :lol:

Freebe
DIY Contributor
DIY Contributor
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:40 am

Re: SNR reading

Post by Freebe » Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:58 pm

Hello Andy
Just in case i am missing something can it be done that the best Signal is at the Top and the lowest at the Bottom.
ie. signal stepping
100% on top and 0% at the bottom
Maybe you add this into the Option block.

Regards Freebe.

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1166
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

Re: SNR reading

Post by ACalcutt » Sat Mar 05, 2011 2:47 pm

Something like the auto sort feature? Settings --> Auto Sort (signal - descending)

I guess I don't have an option to enable that in the options menu, but it can be enabled from the settings. I'll add that in.

EDIT: I forgot, I moved "Auto Sort" into the view menu

Freebe
DIY Contributor
DIY Contributor
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:40 am

Re: SNR reading

Post by Freebe » Mon Mar 07, 2011 3:58 pm

Hallo Andy

Yes i am going Blind :lol: but after you said ( Settings --> Auto Sort (signal - descending ) i tried it but must say it is a bit on the rough side.
Getting readings like
71%
90%
88%
86%
45%
60%
and so on so i think you might be able to better it :idea:
PS. did you read that what i put in about the 1600er and the 2000er ? SkyWiFi :thumbdown:
Bad news from far east. :wink:

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1166
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

Re: SNR reading

Post by ACalcutt » Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:18 am

I guess the autosort could stand to be updated...it hasn't changed much since it was introduced in Vistumbler v3.0

Post Reply