sample rate for use with antenna positioning and design

Post Reply
User avatar
TomAstro
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 8:35 am

sample rate for use with antenna positioning and design

Post by TomAstro » Wed Oct 29, 2014 12:03 pm

Hello,

In the setup you can change the Refresh Loop of default of 1000ms(1sec) but it still samples at 1 second.
Example: 250ms = .25 second so when changed in the setup it samples three .25 samples including the forth .25 which jumps the movement in the graph at 1 second. In short, 1,2,3 jump,1,2,3 jump etc. etc.
Is it possible to smooth out the sampling when selecting a lower rate in the settings?

Why I ask is not only do I use the graph for positioning an antenna, I also do antenna design form standard dipoles to high gain antennas. A smoother and fast sample rate makes things a bit easier when working with an antenna. I do have a HP 8569 spectrum analyzer, but that thing is a quite heavy and way too expensive to be carting out side to do any range and gain testing. My SDR receiver that I use with the laptop cuts off at roughly 1.5 GHz, great for other things, but not for WiFi.
I know that this program is not meant to be for the purpose I am using it for, but it is helpful for knowing what I am looking at besides a standard 2.4GHz signal source.

Cheers
Tom

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

Re: sample rate for use with antenna positioning and design

Post by ACalcutt » Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:20 pm

Have you tried to change the time for "Auto Refresh Networks" (Settings --> Vistumbler Settings ) to something like .25 . This should make Vistumbler try to refresh the networks every 250 milliseconds as long as your Refresh loop time is also 250ms.

User avatar
TomAstro
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 8:35 am

Re: sample rate for use with antenna positioning and design

Post by TomAstro » Thu Dec 11, 2014 9:06 am

Thanks again for your reply Andrew,

That seemed to work. The first time i tried it I must have forgot to do both settings. That sample rate seems to work a bit better while I am adjusting the antenna for gain. It's not the spectrum analyzer but it is much better then dragging the HP analyzer out to a field to do testing. Using Vistumbler gets me in the ball park and then I use the spectrum analyzer for fine tuning the antenna via a signal source or via the sun's noise for measurements. I don't have a Network Analyzer on hand so I have to go by these methods for adjustments.

Thanks again,
Tom

Post Reply