Using Pharos GPS-500 USB

Post Reply
cervello
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:28 am
Contact:

Using Pharos GPS-500 USB

Post by cervello » Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:48 am

I would like to use my portable GPS from Pharos.
It is a iGPS-500 GPS that you can find with Microsoft Street&Trips 2008.
I use a USB dongle.
I am looking for a way to make it work with Vistastumbler.

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

Post by ACalcutt » Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:10 pm

Originally posted by cervello
I would like to use my portable GPS from Pharos.
It is a iGPS-500 GPS that you can find with Microsoft Street&Trips 2008.
I use a USB dongle.
I am looking for a way to make it work with Vistastumbler.
That iGPS-500 looks identicle to the GPS i got with my Street and trips 2007 (except mine says microsoft not pharos). So it should work.

To get the com port look in device manager (like shown in this post http://forum.techidiots.net/forum/viewthread.php?tid=11 )

If you need any more info let me know

-Andrew

mysticvirgo67
Mad Poster / Moderator / Promoter
Mad Poster / Moderator / Promoter
Posts: 424
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:52 pm

Re: Using Pharos GPS-500 USB

Post by mysticvirgo67 » Sun Jun 28, 2009 5:40 pm

I am using the same GPS ahd a little bit of a 'vistumble' finding the right Comm Port, but I went to Control Panel>Device manager>Com and LPT devices and found it. In my case , was comm 8. Works like a charm
"People don't need restore. They just need recovery...and the occasional hard boot"
"The maximum acceleration of a PC is limited only by the amount of explosives used"

Post Reply