Running Vistumbler from the Command Line

Having a problem? Ask for help here.
Post Reply
ed1003
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:41 am

Running Vistumbler from the Command Line

Post by ed1003 »

I am wondering if Vistumbler and specifically the import and export functions can be run from the command line. Ideally, I'd like to be able to include the startup, import, export, and processes all in a script file. Is this possible?
User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1302
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

Running Vistumbler from the Command Line

Post by ACalcutt »

Vistumbler has some command line options, but I'm not sure they would help with an all in one script.

For example,

To Import a single vs1 file into a new vistumbler session you can use
Vistumbler.exe "C:\PathToFile\APs.VS1"

There is also command line export options
Export VS1: Export.exe /db="%temp%/Vistumbler/db.mdb" /t=d /f="C:\PathToFile\Output.VS1"
Export VSZ: Export.exe /db="%temp%/Vistumbler/db.mdb" /t=z /f="C:\PathToFile\Output.VS1"
Export Detail CSV: Export.exe /db="%temp%/Vistumbler/db.mdb" /t=cd /f="C:\PathToFile\Output.csv"
Export Summary CSV: Export.exe /db="%temp%/Vistumbler/db.mdb" /t=cs /f="C:\PathToFile\Output.csv"
Export KML: Export.exe /db="%temp%/Vistumbler/db.mdb" /t=k /f="C:\PathToFile\Output.kml" /a /d /p (note: /a is active aps, /d is dead aps, /p is the track)


The main issue I think is going to be getting the mdb filename, since each file imported with the command line above is going to be inserted into a new database which you will not know the name of. you could look in %temp%/vistumbler/ for the file, but you won't know which belongs to the file you are importing. I'm sure some tweaks could be made to make this a little better for scripting, like allowing the mdb filename to be set by command line

Export.exe isn't really documented, but you can see all the switchs in the source code
https://github.com/RIEI/Vistumbler/blob ... Export.au3 (look a lines 67 - 128)

The main switches you needs are /t (file type) , /db (the location of the vistumbler database), and /f (the location of the output file). There are other switches needed depending on the file type being created.


EDIT: I have also made some scripts to import a directory of VS1s into an sqlite database or a mysql database when I was working on geocoding kmls that may be helpful
https://github.com/RIEI/Vistumbler/blob ... ortVS1.au3
https://github.com/RIEI/Vistumbler/blob ... _MySQL.au3
User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1302
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

Running Vistumbler from the Command Line

Post by ACalcutt »

I made a script to import vs1 files into a mdb file that should be usuable with the Export.exe commands I gave you earlier.

You can get it here
https://github.com/RIEI/Vistumbler/tree ... hImportVS1


From the readme
<<ImportVS1_mdb.exe Readme>>

Switches:
/f - filename or directory to import
/o - output mdb file

Example:
-- Import Single File --
ImportVS1_mdb.exe /f="c:\PathToSourceFile\input.vs1" /o="c:\OutputDir\out.mdb"

-- Import Folder Of VS1 files--
ImportVS1_mdb.exe /f="c:\PathToFolderWithVS1s\" /o="c:\OutputDir\out.mdb"

-- Prompt for directory and Import Folder Of VS1 files--
ImportVS1_mdb.exe /o="c:\OutputDir\out.mdb"

-- Prompt for directory, output to VS1_Import.mdb--
ImportVS1_mdb.exe
Post Reply