KML Help Please!!!! :)

Having a problem? Ask for help here.
Mystified

KML Help Please!!!! :)

Post by Mystified »

I am having a problem with using the netstumbler interface with google. I go to Extra, Open KML Network Link, Google earth loads There are file in Google earth window that are constantly refreshed in "Places" My Problem is that Im a Newb and I cannot figure out how to find my own network signal on google earth or others ,or use these files with the google interface.Additionally I cannot use Google interface with vistumbler like in the screenshot. More than likely it is just from lack of knowledge which I have searched the internet for but to no avail. Post Script- Wonderfull program!!!!!!!!! Runs very smooth just had to hit exceptions in AVG to install, but FYI after that was done and I let the program sit on the computer open overnight when i come back to it,it still pops up with resident sheild threat,from lack of motivation on my part I did not record the error message.
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin

Re: KML Help Please!!!! :)

Post by ACalcutt »

To use autokml(like shown in the screenshot) you go to Extra --> Open KML NetworkLink. If you have not already turned on autokml it will ask you if you want to turn it on. Google earth should then open (if it isn't already) and map any access point that has gps coordinates.

When using vistumbler in autokml mode it makes it very difficult to see the list off access points in google earth because, like you said, the list refreshes at the set interval(which by default is every 1 second). You can temporarily turn off refreshing through google earth and when your done reload the network link (Extra --> Open KML NetworkLink) to start it refreshing again

If you are just looking for a map of all access points it is best to just export to kml (Export --> export to kml) instead of using autokml (since just exporting to kml does not cause the refreshing every second)
Mystified

Post by Mystified »