Does WiFiDB filter out

Post Reply
mysticvirgo67
Mad Poster / Moderator / Promoter
Mad Poster / Moderator / Promoter
Posts: 424
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:52 pm

Does WiFiDB filter out

Post by mysticvirgo67 » Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:29 am

multiple instances of a mac address? Many of my uploads are of the same general track and I would not want to clutter the DB with repetitve (crap I can't spell today) macs.
"People don't need restore. They just need recovery...and the occasional hard boot"
"The maximum acceleration of a PC is limited only by the amount of explosives used"

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

Re: Does WiFiDB filter out

Post by ACalcutt » Wed Oct 28, 2009 1:24 pm

Sort answer: Yes

Long Answer: The WiFiDB keeps track of each run. Based on mac address and some other things it determines if the AP being imported is new or an update. If it is new it is counted as a new AP. If it is an update, the gps and signal history is saved, but it does not add to the total APs in the DB.

User avatar
pferland
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:38 am
Location: The Universe
Contact:

Re: Does WiFiDB filter out

Post by pferland » Sun Nov 01, 2009 12:52 pm

Dont worry about adding in extra info for old APs its just going to add to the Signal History and GPS histroy,
and will even help the GPS by getting more accurate corods over time. :D
The best acceleration you can get on a Mac is 9.8ms^2

Post Reply