GPS bread crumb& Signal % help

Talk about anything that doesn't fit anywhere else
GISGUY

GPS bread crumb& Signal % help

Post by GISGUY » Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:46 pm

Hello... I'm a GIS grad student looking for a way to have a GPS bread crumb (ie a series of waypoints) that is appended with AP information. Specifically signal strength.

Right now it seems that the signal strength is not logged per waypoint. But rather its averaged per AP and attached to a waypoint. I would like to have day 10,15,20... waypoints for a single AP. Then generate a detailed map based on those waypoint values.

I'm running vista so netstumbler won't work for me... Any suggestions?

ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin

Re: GPS bread crumb& Signal % help

Post by ACalcutt » Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:03 pm

The closest thing i have with vistumbler is the export to KML. Export to KML has the option of mapping signal strength (http://forum.techidiots.net/forum/viewt ... f=33&t=278)

The vistumbler VS1 file also keeps all the information you are looking for, but AP data would need to be matched up with GPS data (the VS1 format information is here: http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/v ... VS1_Format)

ACalcutt

Post by ACalcutt » Tue Dec 29, 2009 3:28 am

there is also the option of Text NS1. Even though scanning does not work with netstumbler, you can import a Text NS1 from vistumbler, and use whatever methods worked with netstumbler

GISGUY

Post by GISGUY » Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:57 pm

Hey great info Andrew.
Thanks for getting back to me.

Sorry for the delay I was expecting an email notice of a reply. so I hadn't checked back here in awhile.

So have a lot of questions hope you don't mind?

Wifi isn't my forte so please forgive my lack of background knowledge.

I've got a few of options now. Here is what I have.