MAC addresses not showing

Post Reply
Vgolfmaster
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:45 am

MAC addresses not showing

Post by Vgolfmaster » Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:51 am

Hi,

I have 2 older laptops that I recently installed Vistumbler on. This particular one is not listing any entries for the MAC addresses, yet the other one is. is this possible a result of the age of the wireless card installed in here?

This laptop is a Toshiba Satellite M30-S309 (I told you it was old!!) with an Intel PRO/Wireless LAN 3B Mini PCI Adapter running the wireless.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks,

Vgolfmaster

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

Re: MAC addresses not showing

Post by ACalcutt » Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:25 am

Is one XP?

XP forces vistumbler into native wifi mode (which doesn't have mac address, channel, some other things).

Vgolfmaster
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:45 am

Re: MAC addresses not showing

Post by Vgolfmaster » Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:01 pm

Yes, the one not showing MAC addresses is in fact running XP - I didn't know the OS would matter, thanks for the explanation. is there a way to get this behavior back, or would I be better suited just to put 7 on here? I was considering it anyway, so that wouldn't be too big of a deal.

User avatar
ACalcutt
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Vistumbler / TechIdiots Admin
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:50 pm
Location: Rutland, MA
Contact:

Re: MAC addresses not showing

Post by ACalcutt » Mon Jun 06, 2011 2:56 am

XP isn't really a supported operating system for vistumbler. Only vista and above have the netsh command I use to get the more detailed information, so there is no way to get that info in xp.

You could upgrade to 7 if your hardware will run it. There is also Netstumbler and InSSIDer that will give mac address in XP.

Vgolfmaster
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:45 am

Re: MAC addresses not showing

Post by Vgolfmaster » Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:37 am

Thanks for the info, I did switch the laptop to Win7, and everything is now working.

jeff1909
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 2:12 am

Re: MAC addresses not showing

Post by jeff1909 » Fri May 18, 2012 2:21 am

Vgolfmaster wrote:Thanks for the info, I did switch the laptop to Win7, and everything is now working.
Did the trick for me as well.

Thanks,

jeff

yahoo92
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:12 am

Re: MAC addresses not showing

Post by yahoo92 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:17 am

I didn't know the OS would matter, thanks for the explanation. is there a way to get this behavior back, or would I be better suited just to put 7 on here? I was considering it anyway, so that wouldn't be too big of a deal.
"StewarD"

marco
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:48 pm
Contact:

MAC addresses not showing

Post by marco » Sat Feb 27, 2016 6:20 pm

ACalcutt wrote:Is one XP?

XP forces vistumbler into native wifi mode (which doesn't have mac address, channel, some other things).
:(

craig

User avatar
pferland
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:38 am
Location: The Universe
Contact:

MAC addresses not showing

Post by pferland » Sat Feb 27, 2016 6:26 pm

Yeah, not much we can do about that, but gladly XP is pretty much dying off.
The best acceleration you can get on a Mac is 9.8ms^2

marco
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:48 pm
Contact:

MAC addresses not showing

Post by marco » Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:08 pm

Unfortunately for me for the short term, my project is using XP. I have used VS on Windows 7 but for my current project I am having to use XP.

Thanks for the follow up.

craig

User avatar
pferland
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:38 am
Location: The Universe
Contact:

MAC addresses not showing

Post by pferland » Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:16 pm

awww that sucks :(
The best acceleration you can get on a Mac is 9.8ms^2

marco
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:48 pm
Contact:

MAC addresses not showing

Post by marco » Sat Feb 27, 2016 9:06 pm

Yes it does and I may be running into a GPS within VS while having to run XP. I will verify within the next 24 to 48 hours.

craig

arizonajon
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:17 pm
Contact:

MAC addresses not showing

Post by arizonajon » Sun Feb 28, 2016 1:55 pm

Another alternative is to run NetStumbler in XP and then export the files to Vistumbler. It's not as nice (by far) but it does work fine so long as NetStumbler recognizes the Wi-Fi card.

Cheers - Jon N7UV

marco
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:48 pm
Contact:

MAC addresses not showing

Post by marco » Sat Mar 05, 2016 9:47 pm

I now have a Windows 7 machine and running. Testing is this week.

craig

User avatar
pferland
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:38 am
Location: The Universe
Contact:

MAC addresses not showing

Post by pferland » Thu Mar 17, 2016 6:55 pm

How is the testing with Windows 7 going?
The best acceleration you can get on a Mac is 9.8ms^2

Post Reply